Tuesday, February 24, 2009

2009 Printz Award Winners

The 2009 Michael L. Printz Awards have been announced!
What is the award?
The Michael L. Printz Award is an award for a book that exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association.

2009 Printz Award Winner

Jellicoe Road
by Melina Marchetta

Haunted by the past, Taylor Markham reluctantly leads the students of the Jellicoe School in their secret territory wars against the Townies and the Cadets. Marchetta’s lyrical writing evokes the Australian landscape in a suspenseful tale of raw emotion, romance, humor and tragedy.

2009 Printz Honor Books

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation
Volume II, The Kingdom on the Waves

by M.T. Anderson

Caught in the crossfire of the American Revolution, escaped slave Octavian joins the British army in hopes of finally securing his own freedom.

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks
by E. Lockhart

Can the old-boy network at her elite boarding school survive the mal-doings of Frankie Landau-Banks?

by Terry Pratchett

Pratchett’s trademark humor leavens this epic tale of ravaged islands, shipwrecked nobles and survival.

Tender Morsels
by Mario Lanagan

In utterly original language, Lanagan re-imagines “Snow White and Rose Red” and explores the brutality and beauty of life.

1 comment:

Keri Mikulski said...